Daydream

How do you smuggle daydreams into reality?

David Mitchell

I caught myself
Daydreaming
About a daydream
A daring deceit in itself
Chains of thought
That move like snakes
Elegant though dangerous
Flit at the fringe of proper
My winding mind spilling forth
Through day and then night
Consumed and distracted
Tumbles into unconsciousness
In an unguarded landscape
Where freedom reigns
I find you, always you
My unrequited love waiting
To make real every dream


5 Crazy Facts About Daydreaming


Weekly Theme:
Archive Week

Originally Published:
02/06/2019


18 thoughts on “Daydream

  1. 💜 The NOW!!! This a Beautiful Poem and what “David Mitchell” Does EveryOne; let that Sink In Before YOUR!!! Comments on My Reply EveryBody

    …💛💚💙…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Kind of you to say. I read cloud Atlas earlier this year. A grand sweeping novel that left my head spinning. To be linked to the author in any way is quite the honour 💚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great poem and I did like the 5 facts about daydreaming. Though I take exception to the last one. Now that I’m retired I have given myself permission to daydream and I do it much more frequently!! My creativity has soared!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you.
      I thought they were interesting facts too.
      I was curious about that last one. I used to work in a nursing home and I would often see the residents staring off for great lengths. Even if they were reminiscing or contemplating majority of that time there was still plenty left for daydreaming.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment