Roses & Gifts

 “O Rose thou art sick.

The invisible worm,

That flies in the night.”

William Blake, ‘The Sick Rose’.

3. Write a Decima poem or write a poem using the theme of roses
(Decima poems have a few different styles. I went with the Puerto Rico form.)


The rose does not choose a victim
if held too tight, our pressed too quick
is not at fault when comes the prick
and from the stem cast on a whim
protection for an ending grim
The rose does not choose a lover
conjecture the shady cover
to refuse light, a role rooted
this victim of the garden bed
a flower like any other


Fun Fact: Those nasty points on the stem of the rose are not, in fact, true thorns, but are what scientists call prickles.


4. Write an Alouette poem or write a poem using the word “yield”


My darling so rare
to show you I care
these gifts are a way to say
that my love is true
and I’ll give to you
pieces of me every day

A bouquet of hair
a fingernail chair
your portrait my bloody way
and confetti too
my dandruffs fine hue
to shower our wedding day


Weekly Theme:
NPM 2022 Flex Scavenger Hunt
Link: Here


16 thoughts on “Roses & Gifts

  1. I like the format of the decima form Mouse, excellent poem! 👍👏👌😁 And “my dandruff’s fine hue” just brilliant! 🤣🤣🤣

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment